Harassment by Work Programme Providers of the lowest form – UPDATE :-(

The abuses of work programme providers have been blogged many times before but I am sure many of you agree all abuses must be blogged time and time again until these providers leave those in the ESA Support Group alone and more so if they have a degenerative condition that has a terminal prognosis.

So with the above in mined I turn to one lady from Bristol who has terminal cancer at just 37 years old and has a life expectancy of 0 – 3 years so it is sad indeed that she can expect just half her life lived, she says in her facebook message that she has come to terms with what will happen (very brave indeed) but the short life left would be much better if she was not harassed by work programme provider Prospects Group @ProspectsGroup and I for one agree.

It is hard enough having to deal with a bombshell that has hit her and the health conditions that terminal illness throws at her without having the wrath of DWP and Work Providers at beck and call too.

She needs her family around her and her life filled with happiness and memories not some Govt and Work Provider totally devoid of any compassion and empathy.

Prospect Group leave her alone to live out her final years

Her Facebook Message is below:

I have terminal cancer, my prognosis is 0-3 years and I was diagnosed in March 2014 with my brain stem glioma. In April 2014 I was placed in the support group for 3 years and I have gone from being able-bodied to hopelessly disabled. I have many neurological deficits including diploplia, dyspraxia, dysarthria and dysphagia. To save you googling, this means that I have double vision and am going blind, I’m very clumsy and most days I drop everything I pick up, my speech is failing and one day I won’t be able to communicate verbally at all and I have such difficulty swallowing that I now have a feeding tube. I cannot leave the house alone and I’m at risk of choking and need 24 hour care. They speak of me going into residential care, but they hope to keep me in my own home for as long as possible. The trouble is degenerative, nothing will get better, only worse, the cancer can’t be cured. I’m 37.

Now. I can deal with all that. I’m alive! And I can still do stuff!! What I cannot deal with is that I am on the work programme!!! I received this letter today (too late to ring the WP) demanding I come to an appointment with the Work Programme on Tuesday or they’ll stop my benefits. HOW SICK DOES A PERSON HAVE TO BE BEFORE THE HARRASSMENT STOPS??

The letter is a bit ominous in nature and she did not realise until pointed out to her it was a telephone appointment letter and thought she had to go to the Bristol Office.

appointment letter

This treatment has to end it is not what this nation wants and is a further clear sign of Iain Duncan Smith’s broken Welfare Reforms as it is attacking the wrong citizens.

If you too agree that this is disgraceful you can add your name to the letter I have written to Ed Miliband in the hope of bringing about positive change in the next Government:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/16ULZNsC4ibbuFKnF4PhcTzYt9OV4f7uV0Q_ErpPZSQs/edit?usp=sharing

UPDATE 😦

Despite our efforts to stop the harassment of this terminally ill lady it was not to be and that terminal illness has come to bear as she has sadly passed away, in my dealings with her in trying to get this letter petition together I found her to be a fighter to the end and very brave in the face of adversity.

She with the help of her family has left a message below with a link to her donation page:

“Dear Friendlings Don’t be spooked now, my cousin Chris, sisters Lis and Lucie, brother Jago and my Mum are writing this for me because I had to leave you all last week as you know. Sorry to go missing from here too for a while. My family have had a few things to do and wanted to get things right for me before informing you all of what’s happening.

My bash will be on Monday 16th March at 1.30 at Mendip Crematorium near Wells. You can google it to get directions because it’s not easy to find being up by the Glasto festival site and all.

Now I don’t want you spending your hard earned cash on flowers because I’ll have plenty of those from my family. If you want to bring me a rose and write me a message there will be a time and place for you to give those to me and I think I’d really like that. Nothing too ostentatious mind. You know I don’t do that stuff.

Cousin Chris has been getting a collection going for my charity of Caring in Bristol. If you want to donate and leave a message for me just go to justgiving.com/Lotte-Ryan and all will be revealed.

Share lots of happy memories and thoughts of me on this page, no arguing with anyone now or doing any naughty stuff. I’ve been hearing things (tut) and don’t forget to download any photies you may want to keep.

I love you all dear friendlings. My diary of a Mong is over. My journey is ended and I am at peace. Lottekins”

I am beside myself at the moment because the treatment she was handed under Camerons Govt was totally unjust and unfair when she should have been left in peace to spend her last days with her family and loved ones.

The only good thing now is the harassment she received from DWP and the work provider has now come to an end.

Rest in Peace Lottie

19 thoughts on “Harassment by Work Programme Providers of the lowest form – UPDATE :-(

  1. i hope this goes viral, no one should ever be make to suffer like this, each and every person in this wretched system lives with a brown envelope hanging over them and we should not have to live in fear, we have enough going on with being chronically sick and disabled and coping with life on a daily basis, let alone living our last few months in terror of dwp and their epic failures and incompetence x

  2. I’m not sure if the same applies for DWP and work program companies when sending out these letters but according to this from ‘same difference’, those of us in support group don’t have to attend.

    November 15, 2014
    by samedifference1

    From DPAC.

    DWP management target disabled benefit claimants.

    Over the next 24 hours DWP management will ‘invite’ close on 2,000 benefit claimants from Birmingham to attend interviews, with a goal of getting at least 10% off the benefit register.

    The group of benefit claimants being targeted are in the majority waiting for assessments to decide if they are able to be deemed ‘fit for work’. (The assessment formerly and controversially run by ATOS). Those waiting assessments are often disabled or vulnerable adults.

    The ‘invitation’ letter issued makes no suggestion that the attendance to these interviews is purely voluntary, indeed DWP staff in Birmingham (and Central England) have been advised verbally and by email from management to keep it to themselves that attendance to these interviews is not mandatory. One manager in a city based office was overheard saying that the way to deal with these claimants is to ‘hassle, hassle them off benefit’.

    Andrew Lloyd, PCS Midlands regional secretary that represents DWP staff said, “It is outrageous that the DWP are duping the most vulnerable by issuing this letter, and then worse still setting a target to get those off benefits, it could be argued that this approach is unlawful. Our members are totally opposed to this approach but are faced with inferred disciplinary action unless they act upon these targets.”

    [Press Release from PCS Union]

    If you receive one of these letters, or if you receive a letter about Work Focussed Interviews while you are in the support group YOU DO NOT HAVE TO ATTEND and they cannot stop your benefits if you don/t attend.

    Here is a template letter that you can use to reply to the letter from the DWP:
    Dear Sir/ madam (DWP)

    I understand that this interview is not mandatory and my non attendance will not effect my benefit payments. I am therefore exercising my right not to attend this interview.

    I want to make it clear that I will cooperate with all mandatory requirements to ensure continued payment of benefits.

    Yours

    XXXXX

Leave a Reply

